Undergraduate Student Awards

Undergraduate majors in psychology are eligible for three awards annually:

  • Elizabeth A. Kenny Scholarship in Psychology.  The Kenny scholarship is to be awarded to a rising junior (4 semesters left before graduation) or rising senior psychology major (2 semesters left before graduation).
  • Outstanding Psychology Honors Student. Any honors student who graduates during this academic year (summer, fall, or spring) is eligible for the Outstanding Psychology Honors Student award.
  • Theresa Nash Bernstein Scholarship. The Theresa Nash Bernstein Scholarship in International Travel was established by Lauren Adamson, former Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and her husband, Walter L. Adamson. The scholarship honors her mother, who was a teacher, artist, and world traveler. The scholarship will allow an undergraduate or graduate student in psychology or a related field to travel abroad for research or study.

To be considered for any of the above awards, students must be nominated by a regular (non-visiting nor adjunct) faculty member. Regular faculty members who wish to nominate a student should send an e-mail to Director of Undergraduate Studies  by the end of December. Please include in the e-mail the student’s name, the name of the award, and a brief statement about why the student deserves the award.

The Theresa Nash Bernstein Scholarship in International Travel can be awarded either to a graduate or an undergraduate student.