Program Areas and Concentrations

The Department of Psychology has five program areas, which oversee the seven concentrations. All graduate students in Psychology complete core psychology courses (i.e., History of Psychology, Ethics, Statistics I, Statistics II, Research Methods), a general exam, a master’s thesis project, and a dissertation project. Additional courses and requirements (e.g., practica, internship) are unique to the separate concentrations, which are administered by the program areas.

Graduate students earn a master’s degree en route to the doctoral (PhD) degree (there is no terminal master’s program in the Department of Psychology). At the completion of training, graduates earn a PhD in Psychology with a specific Concentration (Clinical, Cognitive Sciences, Community, Developmental, Cognitive and Affective Neuroscience, Clinical-Community, or Clinical-Neuropsychology).